FACULTY SENATE MINUTES SAM HOUSTON STATE UNIVERSITY

September 1, 2011

Members Present:

Tracy Bilsing (CHSS), Len Breen (CoE), Donald Bumpass (CoBA), Erin Cassidy (NGL), Donna Desforges (CHSS), Mark Frank (CoBA), Chad Hargrave (CoAS), Debbi Hatton (CHSS), Renee James (CoAS), Bill Jasper (CoAS), Gerald Kohers (CoBA), Paul Loeffler (CoAS), Joyce Mc Cauley (CoE), Sheryl Murphy-Manley (CFAMC), Dwayne Pavelock (CoAS), Sheryl Serres (CoE), Tracy Steele (CHSS), Ricky White (CoAS).

Members Not Present:

Carl Brewer (CoBA), Rebecca Bustamante (CoE), Jeff Crane (CHSS), Hee-jong Joo (CoCJ), Drew Lopenzino (CHSS), Ling Ren (CoCJ), Doug Ullrich (CoAS).

Special Guests: President Dana Gibson, Provost Jaimie Hebert, SGA President Tyler Eberhart

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 by Senate Chair Frank.

Recognition Ceremony:

Approval of Minutes:

Motion to approve minutes from the April 21, 2011 meeting approved unanimously.

Passing of the Gavel:

-Induction of new senators

Randall Garner (CoCJ)

Pam Zelbst (CoBA)

Lawrence Kohn (CoED)

Debbie Price (CoED)

Kevin Clifton (CFAMC)

Javier Pinell (CFAMC)

Sheryl Murphy-Manley (CFAMC) - Incumbent

Jeff Crane (CHSS) - Incumbent

Drew Lopenzina (CHSS) - Incumbent

Tracy Steele was elected chair-elect.

Chair report-

Staff & Faculty Phonebook – The original printed one was discontinued in 2009, however, the staff would like to resurrect that practice. IT is working on an electronic book that should be completed soon.

Purchasing Parking Stickers – there was confusion at the beginning of the 2011-2012 parking permit purchasing process. Chair Hatton received six telephone calls during the first two days of the process so she spoke to David Kalpako and Tammy Gustafson about the faculty issues.

for providing names for the full Senate to offer as nominees to the university-wide committees as requested. In providing names to the Senate, the committee should give consideration to faculty preference for committee assignments and a faculty member's qualifications to serve on those committees.

Members: Randy Garner – COCJ, Chad Hargrave – COS, Gerald Kohers – COBA, Lawrence Kohn- COED, Javier Pinell – CFAMC, Doug Ullrich - COS

Docket Items: Excellence in Service Award, Participation on campus committees. Submit information to Dorothy for the Academic Affairs newsletter after each meeting, Review and update Senate Constitution and By-laws, Recruiting candidates for Senate positions and conducting election, Annual Senate survey.

Faculty Affairs: The Faculty Affairs Committee will be responsible for all matters dealing with merit policy, grievance policy, tenure, salary, leave policy, research policy, benefits and insurance, promotions, dismissals, and whatever other charges the Chair may assign.

Members: Donna Desforges – CHSS, Mark Frank – COBA, Paul Loeffler – COS, Joyce McCauley – COED, Sheryl Murphy-Manley - CFAMC, Ricky White – COS.

Docket Items: Excellence in Teaching Award, Summer Session, Recommendation on hybrid courses, Recommendation for IDEA' role in FES and on Market/Merit raises.

University Affairs: The University Affairs Committee will be responsible for all matters dealing with students, traffic and safety, building and grounds maintenance, recruitment of students, University publicity, and whatever other charges the Chair may assign.

Members: Tracy Bilsing - CHSS, Len Breen - COED, Erin Cassidy - NGL,

-

DELTA and a Fiber Optic Uplink: Chair Hatton reported that Vice President Bill Angrove of DELTA