## University Faculty Senate Minutes September 19, 2002

Members present: Bill Abbott, Joanne Ardovini-

Dr. Valerie Muehsam assured Faculty Senators that Dr. David Payne, Vice President of Academic Affairs, wanted the Faculty Senate's feedback on the proposal and that faculty concerns would be considered.

Numerous faculty who were not Senators attended the meeting to voice concerns about the proposed changes, including Dr. Jim Olson, Distinguished Professor of History; Dr. Diane Dowdey; Dr. Tracy Steele; Dr. Mark Frank; Dr. Julie Hall; Dr. Tom Chasteen; Dr. Frieda Koeninger; Dr. Vic Sower; Dr. Raphael Saumell-Munoz and others.

The major concerns expressed included the following:

- Proposal emphasizes the sciences at the expense of encouraging research in the arts, humanities, and business.
- Fostering grant applications does not equate with fostering research in many disciplines.
- Many disciplines do not have money available that would be tied directly to research.
- Proposal may have a negative effect on Summer research.
- Arts and humanities were not represented by the committee that redesigned the program.
- Requirements for promotion at all levels have been raised and research should be supported at all

## **Committees**

Faculty Affairs, University Affairs, Academic Affairs, and Committee on Committees met to elect chairs and recorders. The results were the following:
Faculty Affairs—Chair, Tamara Waggener; Recorder, Joanne Ardovini-Brooker University Affairs—Chair, Leonard Breen; Recorder, Ann Jerabek Academic Affairs—Chair, Debra Price; Recorder, Gene Young Committees—Chair, Mary Lynn DeShazo; Recorder, Gerald Kohers

## **Future Business**

James Van Roekel will be asked to come to the next Senate meeting in order to discuss the proposed changes to TSUS rules on faculty compensation for web course development and the suggested additions to faculty evaluation forms for online and technology-based courses.

Discussion on restructuring the College of Arts and Sciences was tabled until after faculty input at town meetings.

Respectfully submitted,

Kandi Tayebi, chair-elect